ARCHIVED - Office of the Chief Military Judge

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Information: We are in the process of moving our services and information to

The Office of the Chief Military Judge page has moved. Our current page has been archived and will no longer be updated. Visit our new location on for the latest information. Please be sure to update your bookmarks.

The Office of the Chief Military Judge (OCMJ) is an independent unit of the Canadian Forces established in 1997. Its personnel include military judges, the Court Martial Administrator and the Deputy Court Martial Administrator, military and civilian court reporters as well as legal (court administration), technical, financial, human resources and administrative support.


The role of the Office of the Chief Military Judge is to:

  • provide military judges to preside at courts martial and perform other judicial duties under the National Defence Act;
  • administer the convening of courts martial, the appointment of members of General Courts Martial, as well as the provision of court reporting services and transcription of the proceedings of courts martial and other judicial hearings; and
  • in the case of military judges, with the concurrence of the Chief Military Judge, be appointed as a board of inquiry.

In particular, the Court Martial Administrator who acts under the general supervision of the Chief Military Judge, convenes courts martial in respect of charges that have been preferred by the Director of Military Prosecutions. In the case of General Courts Martial that is composed of a military judge and a panel of five Canadian Forces members, the Court Martial Administrator appoints their members. The Court Martial Administrator performs many other prescribed statutory and regulatory duties, such as those referred to in subsection 165.19(1) of the National Defence Act and article 101.17 of the Queen’s Regulations and Orders for the Canadian Forces (QR&O).

The Court Martial Administrator is responsible for any matters dealing with court administration, including the preparation of a record for the Court Martial Appeal Court when an appeal is made to that Court. The services provided by the Court Martial Administrator are similar but not identical to the services provided by a registrar of a permanent civil court. In the end, the Court Martial Administrator manages the Office of the Chief Military Judge and supervise personnel, other than military judges, within that Office.

Date modified:

Le Cabinet du juge militaire en chef

Le Cabinet du juge militaire en chef (CJMC) a été établi en 1997 comme une unité indépendante des Forces canadiennes. Il est constitué de juges militaires, de l’administrateur de la cour martiale et de l’administrateur adjoint de la cour martiale. Il compte également des sténographes judiciaires militaires et civils ainsi que du personnel de soutien responsable des aspects juridiques – l’administration de la cour –, techniques, financiers et administratifs ou chargé de la gestion des ressources humaines.

Rôle

Le rôle du Cabinet du juge militaire en chef est :

  • de gérer l'affectation de juges militaires pour présider des cours martiales et remplir d'autres fonctions judiciaires en vertu de la Loi sur la défense nationale;
  • d'administrer la convocation des cours martiales, la nomination des membres aux cours martiales générales ainsi que la prestation de services de sténographie judiciaire et de transcription des débats des cours martiales et des autres auditions judiciaires;
  • dans le cas des juges militaires, d’être nommés pour agir à titre de commission d’enquête  si le juge militaire en chef donne son agrément.

En particulier, l'administrateur de la cour martiale qui agit sous la supervision générale du juge militaire en chef convoque les cours martiales relativement aux accusations portées par le directeur des poursuites militaires. Dans le cas des cours martiales générales qui sont composées d’un juge militaire et de cinq membres des Forces canadiennes, l'administrateur de la cour martiale nomme les membres à ces comités. L’administrateur de la cour martiale accomplit plusieurs autres fonctions prévues à la loi et aux règlements, tel que celles qui sont mentionnées au paragraphe 165.19(1) de la Loi sur la défense nationale et de l’article 101.17 des Ordonnances et règlements applicables aux Forces canadiennes (ORFC).

L'administrateur de la cour martiale est responsable de toutes les questions touchant l’administration des cours, y compris de la préparation du dossier pour la Cour d’appel de la cour martiale lorsqu’un appel est interjeté devant cette cour. Les services offerts par l’administrateur de la cour martiale sont semblables, mais ne sont pas identiques à ceux rendus par un registraire d’une cour civile. Finalement, l’administrateur de la cour martiale dirige le Cabinet du juge militaire en chef et en supervise le personnel, à l’exception des juges militaires.

Date de modification :